Beet Hummus (gluten free, vegan)

beet hummus

I love colourful food, don’t you? It tastes of health and vitality, like I can feel my body absorbing all the wonderful nutrients those colours have to offer. Have you ever noticed that junk and processed food tends to look pretty drab? I see a common theme of brown and brownishly white (aka beige for the literate) happening.

But ahh – colour. It’s so inviting, and looks so pretty! Hence my recent love affair with all things beets. You’re going to see a lot of beet eating in my Healthful Hoard, so you’d better get used to it now!

Beet Hummus 

~ Gluten free, vegan, refined sugar free ~

Ingredients

  • 1 beet, roasted and quartered*
  • 1 can (19 oz.) chickpeas (with no salt added, if you can find it), drained and rinsed
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, depending on how garlicky you like it (I used 2)
  • 2 tbsp. tahini
  • 4 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. ground flax
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • Freshly ground sea salt and black pepper, to taste
  • Water, as needed

Directions

  1. With the food processor running, drop in the garlic to quickly mince (why give yourself extra work?)
  2. Add in the chickpeas, beet quarters, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, and flax.
  3. Puree until smooth, adding water as necessary if it seems too thick.
  4. Season with salt and pepper.*
  5. Enjoy!

Notes

* If you puree the beets beforehand, the hummus might come out a little bit smoother. To be honest, I was just feeling lazy, and I don’t mind a little chunk here or there, as I’m a fan of texture. It’s up to you!

* I usually add ground  cumin to my hummus, and while I didn’t do so here, I imagine it would still be a great addition.

One thought on “Beet Hummus (gluten free, vegan)

  1. Pingback: Leftover Lentils with Beet Greens (and half the fridge, too!) | The Healthful Hoard

Leave a Reply

