Power Green Smoothie (aka your new favourite breakfast!) (gluten free, raw, vegan)

smoothie fixins

I love breakfast, don’t get me wrong. I’m not one of those people who “just can’t eat” in the morning. In fact, I’m one of those, “can’t wait to go to sleep so I can wake up and have breakfast” kinds of people (is that weird?). BUT, I don’t like rushing in the morning. Upon rising I always have a glass or two of lemon water to get my digestive fires geared up – they need all the help they can get, believe me – and then I like to relax over a latte a short while later. This morning ritual is not conducive to getting up and going to work in a reasonable amount of time, however. I’ve tried getting up a little earlier and scarfing down a full breakfast before I leave for work or school, since I’ll be starving halfway through the morning if I eat nothing, but that always leaves me feeling bloated. In an ideal world, I would have breakfast an hour or so after my coffee (and thus a couple of hours after rising). Maybe not ideal for some, but it works for me, and digestion is a personal beast.

All of that ramble  brings me to this smoothie. Smoothies are delicious, nutritious, and can be brought and enjoyed on the way to work! Even if I have to “scarf” one down before leaving, I don’t feel weighed down like I would with a rushed meal. Smoothies are also my favourite way to ensure I get lots of vegetables at every meal. I feel like most people miss a great opportunity to add vegetables into their diets in the morning. For some reason, morning = carbs and sugar to a lot of people, but that’s just setting you up for a crash!

I’m also not a fan of the pure fruit smoothie. Sure, they’re delicious, but it’s still a glass full of sugar and does not leave me feeling satisfied.

Meet my best friend, and hopefully your new one.

Power Green Smoothie (serves 1)

~ Gluten free, vegan, refined sugar free ~

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut water (or your favourite non-dairy milk)
  • 2 cups organic spinach, or 1 cup organic kale
  • 1 serving chocolate protein powder (I use this one)
  • 1 tbsp. natural almond butter
  • 1 banana, frozen
  • A few ice cubes

Optional:

  • 1 tbsp. flax or chia seeds
  • 1/4 zucchini
  • Your favourite green supplement (matcha, moringa, etc.)

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients, starting with the coconut water or milk first, into the blender. Blend on high until mixed and somewhat smooth.
  2. Add spinach or kale and zucchini, if using, and continue blending until smooth. You may need to stop and stir a couple of times, depending on the strength of your blender. Make sure to stop first! I have made that mistake enough times.

This can be made ahead of time. I often make mine the night before and keep it in the fridge, to save precious morning time.

 

Leave a Reply

