Chocolate Almond Java Shake (gluten free, vegan)

almond java

This is literally going to knock your socks off! I am not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination – mid-morning, however, I’m all about (no matter how hard people laugh when I tell them so) – but I am 100% a morning gym person. I absolutely hate working out in the evening, especially after I’ve worked all day.  I have less energy, I’m probably still digesting lunch, and I just want to be at home in my jammies. I’ll still do it, since I never skip a workout unless I’m basically at death’s door, but I won’t be happy about it. All of which brings us to this magic in a glass. Tell me I have to wake up at 6am for work and I’m all sighs and groans, but tell me I have time to go to the gym before work/class/life if I wake up at 6? Score! However, a reward for waking up that early of your own accord is nice, no?

This shake gives me all the fuel I need for an amazing workout, and wakes me up like nothing else. You might be asking why protein before a workout, and all I can say is that the evidence is inconclusive. Protein is important after a workout for sure, but I have read just as many articles saying to have it before as after, and more still saying that it makes no difference when, so long as it’s within an hour or two on either side. I personally prefer a shake before a workout because it doesn’t bog me down like a full breakfast would, and I’m always ravenous afterwards anyway, so that’s when I want a real meal. You can of course enjoy this whenever you like – it would make a great afternoon pick-me-up!

If you want an added boost or need some extra staying powder, include some chia or hemp seeds, or some ground flax.

Chocolate Almond Java Shake (serves 1) 

~ Vegan, gluten free, refined sugar free ~

Adapted from the Almond Java Shake at Fresh Restaurants.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of almond milk (or your favourite non-dairy milk)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • 1 serving chocolate protein powder (as mentioned previously, I use Garden of Life’s RAW Protein)
  • 1-2 shots of espresso
  • 4-6 ice cubes

Directions

  1. Pour almond milk into your blender first, and then add everything except for the espresso.
  2. Blend, on high, for about 20 seconds. While the blender is still going, slowly pour in the espresso.
  3. Drink up!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Java Shake (gluten free, vegan)

  1. Pingback: Spring Detox Smoothie (gluten free, vegan, raw) |

  2. Pingback: The Amazing Almond

Leave a Reply

