Chai Tea Infused Chocolate Avocado Pudding (gluten free, vegan)

pudding

I know what you’re thinking. Chocolate… and avocado? These things do not go together! Well, let me tell you, there is a party in my mouth right now and you’re all invited! This pudding is amazing. It has a wonderful depth of flavour, and offers such a thick and creamy chocolatey explosion in your mouth, you’ll want to eat it all in one sitting. I nearly did, believe me. It is best served cold, but if you’re anything like me (ie. impatient) you will want to eat a least a little right away. I literally scraped down the sides of my blender with my fingers so as not to waste even a drop. For this reason, I will have to be slightly vague on how many people this serves – you might not want to share!

The recipe I adapted this from used bananas rather than pumpkin, but I found the flavour too overpowering. I don’t want anything getting in the way of me and my chocolate! I decided to try pumpkin instead, since it still contributes to the creamy texture and has a subtle sweetness which just brings out the chocolatey goodness rather adding a new flavour profile to the mix. I promise you can’t taste either pumpkin or avocado – just pure indulgence, without actually indulging! I love guilt-free dessert, don’t you?

The tea I used is Coffee Chai from David’s Tea, however I checked their website today and it’s currently off their menu. I think it will be back in the winter, but in the meantime you might try their Pure Chai and add in a couple of coffee beans to get the same effect.

SO.

Image

GOOD.

Chai Tea Infused Chocolate Avocado Pudding (serves 2-4)

~ Gluten free, vegan, refined sugar free, (almost) raw ~

Recipe adapted from Wholehearted Eats Tea Infused Chocolate Pudding

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao
  • 8-10 dates, soaked in warm water for 15 minutes
  • 2 tbsp. pure maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup strong brewed chai tea
  • pinch of sea salt
  • splash of unsweetened almond milk (optional)

Directions

  1. While you are getting your ingredients together, soak your dates in a bowl of warm water to soften them.
  2. Place drained dates along with about half the tea (preferably still warm) in the blender and blend on high for a couple of minutes, or until a paste forms.
  3. Add the rest of your ingredients, reserving the leftover tea and almond milk, and turn the blender on high again. While it is still going, add in your leftover tea. You may need to stir things around and scrape down the sides a couple of times depending on the strength of your blender. If it still seems too thick, add in some almond milk, a bit at a time, until it blends smoothly.
  4. Chill in the fridge for 2 hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

