Tropical Carrot Muffins with Cashew Lime Frosting (gluten free)

Carrot Muffins 2

At least once a week the scent of freshly baked cookies, muffins, or cake wafts through my house. Nothing beats freshly baked treats, especially when you don’t have the option of just popping over to the local bakery to satisfy a craving. Would I kill for a croissant? Dear god yes. So you may be wondering why I haven’t posted a recipe like this until now, and I confess… I was too afraid of disappointing you! Everyone has their favourite, go-to recipes, and I’m no exception. Since removing gluten from my diet I’ve found many wonderful recipes that have made their way into my regular rotation, but I haven’t spent much time working on my own. The more baking I do, however, the more comfortable I begin to feel with what I consider to be the science of baking (versus the art of cooking – something I am much more at ease with). So rather than staying in my comfort zone, which is, well, comfortable, I decided to take a risk and create something just for you. I hope you enjoy eating them as much as I enjoyed creating them.

I have two words for you: Healthy. Frosting. Eat up!

Fresh from the oven.

The batter ended up coming out to 11, and yes, this caused my OCD to do a nervous little twitch, but that’s the way the cookie (muffin?) crumbled!

Now for the frosting...

Update: These are even better the next day! How does that work? And they’re amazing even without the frosting, so if you don’t have cashews, no worries!

Tropical Carrot Muffins with Cashew Lime Frosting 

~ Gluten free, dairy free ~

Ingredients

Dry

    • 1 cup gluten free oat flour
    • 3/4 cup raw buckwheat flour
    • 1/2 cup almond meal
    • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
    • 1/3 cup coconut sugar (or sucanat)
    • 2 tbsp flax meal
    • 1.5 tsp baking powder
    • 3/4 tsp sea salt
    • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
    • 3/4 tps ground ginger
    • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (or pre-ground)
    • 1/4 tsp allspice

Wet

    • 2 organic eggs
    • 1 cup grated carrot
    • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
    • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
    • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree (or applesauce)
    • 3 tbsp coconut oil, melted and cooled slightly
    • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin with muffin cups.
  2. In a large bowl, add all dry ingredients and mix thoroughly.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs.
  4. Beat in the maple syrup, almond milk, pumpkin puree, vanilla, and coconut oil.
  5. Fold in the grated carrots, and then the dry mix.
  6. Gently mix until you can no longer see dry flour. Don’t over-stir.
  7. Spoon the batter into the liners and place tray in the middle rack of your oven.
  8. Bake for 25-30 minutes. The muffins should be slightly browned on top and a toothpick should come out clean, but not bone-dry.
  9. Place muffins on a cooling rack and let sit for at least 10 muffins (if you can!). Add frosting as you eat them, otherwise they will get soggy.

Cashew Lime Frosting

Ingredients

    • 3/4 cup raw cashews, soaked for at least 4 hours
    • juice of 1 lime
    • 1 tbsp honey
    • 2-3 tbsp almond milk
    • pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Place the cashews, honey, lime juice, and salt if your food processor and blend on high.
  2. Add almond milk one tablespoon at a time to help everything puree. Blend until smooth.

Leave a Reply

