Cheesy Potato Waffles with Garlic and Chives (gluten free)

Cheesy Potato Waffles

Every so often I purchase a new kitchen appliance, and it’s like my birthday and Christmas all rolled into one happy Amazon package. I’m pretty good about picking things I will continue to use long after the excitement has worn off – the only exception is my juicer, which was fazed out of my regular rotation about a year after the purchase, in favour of blending whole vegetables – and my waffle iron gets ample attention. I’m pretty sure Conor thought I was nuts for buying it, and even more nuts for how ridiculously excited I was when it arrived, but since then he’s reaped the benefits of the purchase many times over. And at $50, you really can’t go wrong.

If you don’t have a waffle iron yet… get one. You won’t regret it! Making yourself a waffle in the morning is such a great form of self-love; it really feels like you’re treating yourself to something special, and it takes such minimal effort, even when making them from scratch. Making waffles for your friends, on the other hand… that’s going to lead to you scoring some serious brownie points.  Whoever heard of someone asking, “Who wants waffles?” without it immediately being followed by a resounding and duly impressed chorus of “I do!”?

My friend Sarah once brought her waffle iron to our yearly August long weekend cottage trip and it was literally the best cottage breakfast idea ever – especially after the previous day’s indulgence in red wine *ahem*. My own waffle iron purchase came soon after, and I’ve been enthusiastically waffling (yes, I went there) ever since.

But I’ll stop selling you on the appliance. Let’s look at these potato waffles! I love latkes, but don’t love how I feel after eating things deep-fried in oil. Enter the potato waffle, the lightened up version of a breakfast favourite. It’s still crispy without all the fat, and it’s oh-so-savoury thanks to the addition of some smoked cheddar. Topped with some scrambled eggs and avocado, it definitely feels like a breakfast of champions (or dinner, because who says you can’t eat breakfast food at night?).

Cheesy Potato Waffles with Garlic Chives (makes 3 standard waffles)

~ Gluten free, soy free, refined sugar free, nut free option ~

Ingredients

  • 2 cups mashed potato (I mashed mine plain with a touch of milk, and left the skins on to preserve the fiber content)
  • 1/4 cup gluten free all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup smoked cheddar, grated
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp chives, minced
  • 2 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Directions

  1. Preheat your waffle iron and brush lightly with sunflower or coconut oil. I use this one and it’s just great – the plates are removable and dishwasher-safe, so cleanup is super easy. 
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs with the olive oil, and then whisk in the mashed potatoes.
  3. Add the cheddar, garlic, and chives and mix well.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together the two flours, baking powder, and salt.
  5. Combine everything together – the result will be quite thick, but that’s okay.
  6. Evenly spread 1/3 of the mixture into your waffle iron and cook according to the directions of your waffle iron – mine takes about 7 minutes.
  7. Serve with scrambled eggs and sliced avocado.

Notes

  1. To make this recipe nut free, replace the almond meal with ground flax.

Cheesy Potato Waffles 2

One thought on “Cheesy Potato Waffles with Garlic and Chives (gluten free)

  1. My husband and I made this tonight and it was fabulous. Thanks so much for posting it! I just discovered your website today and I’m excited to try more recipes

    Like

Leave a Reply

