Winter Rebellion Salad (gluten free, vegan)

IMG_1309

The fruit of rebellion often bears the sweetest yield. There is something tangibly more enjoyable and exciting about engaging in an illicit behaviour – even if it’s something you’ve done a million times before. I just never imagined that rebellion could take the form of a salad, or that it would taste like some ambrosial gift from the gods. One never knows what the future holds in store is the lesson I’m going to take away from this experience.

You’re probably wondering how on earth eating a salad is being naughty. I would be, if I were you. Well, when your new naturopath tells you to avoid raw foods (and eggs and bananas – literally all things I eat every single day) for over two weeks and you give up in disgust after one week – I think the word applies. I LOVE salad. I mean really love it. I know it sounds a little flaky when I say this, but I can truly feel the transference of energy and vitality from raw plants when I consume them – I have more energy, I crave sugar less, and I don’t have as many tummy woes. One week without raw plant matter made me feel just wretched, so I decided I had given it enough of a chance and was going to make the salad to end all salads. I wanted a bowl literally bursting with life to reinvigorate my suddenly sluggish body.

I also call this my rebellion salad because it rather ignores the fact of winter that’s staring us in the face. Winter who? What snow?

Step 1: I started by going to my local farmer’s market (Dufferin Grove). Kind Organics always has a stall there, and they sell a beautiful array of sprouts and edible flowers.

IMG_1313

I can’t help staring in awe at the vibrancy of these gorgeous colours!

Step 2: I purchased some tomato marinated nigari tofu (organic and non-GMO) from Ying Ying Soy. They make tofu the same way it has been made since 200 BC – no additives or calcium sulphate – and the results are pretty incredible. I love buying tofu from them because I know it’s a small family business and the product is one I can trust.

Step 3: I slightly tweaked the avocado dressing from my Kale Slaw, making it a bit lighter to better suit the lighter greens.

Step 4: Add various colourful veggies and some seeds before mowing down.

I’ve never enjoyed a salad more in my entire life. I hope your experience is even halfway as good!

IMG_1311

Winter Rebellion Salad (serves 1-2)

~ Gluten free, vegan, refined sugar free, nut free, soy free option ~

Ingredients

For the salad

  • 2 cups Kind Organics Cosmic Sprout Salad (or your own combination of sprouts – they use sunflower, pea, radish, fennel, and buckwheat sprouts, along with some fresh dill)
  • 1/3 package Ying Ying Soy Tomato Tofu (or a couple of your own tofu steaks)
  • 1 small carrot, shredded
  • 8-10 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 3 tbsp red onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp each sunflower seeds, hemp seeds, goji berries

For the dressing

  •  3/4 small, ripe avocado
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
  • 3 tbsp filtered water
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp honey (or maple syrup if vegan)
  • sea salt and black pepper

Directions

  1. Add all dressing ingredients to a blender and blend on high until smooth. If it seems too thick, feel free to add a touch more water. There will be dressing leftover, it will keep fresh in the fridge for about 5 days – if you haven’t eaten it by then!
  2. Heat a small frying pan over medium heat, along with 2 tbsp water. Add the tofu slices and saute until heated through. I don’t own a microwave, but you could of course use yours instead.
  3. Add all your veggies and seeds to a large bowl, toss with the dressing, and top with your tofu steaks.

IMG_1304

One thought on “Winter Rebellion Salad (gluten free, vegan)

  1. Pingback: Sicilian Fennel and Orange Salad |

Leave a Reply

