Peppermint Pattie Smoothie (gluten free, vegan)

pics (1 of 1)

Happy day-before St. Patrick’s Day!

Whoever first thought to combine chocolate and mint deserves some kind of lifetime achievement award, at least in my books. It’s one of my all-time favourite sweet pairings, so much so that I was rarely found without a box of Junior Mints in my purse during my high school years. These days, I eschew those high-fructose corn syrup droplets of yum in favour of more natural alternatives. I have found some pretty fantastic organic dark chocolate + mint bars over the last few years that satisfy the craving and taste infinitely better, but today I wanted to give a nod to the Irish side of my heritage and celebrate the holiday in a healthful way.

Since many of us will be indulging in a drink (or two, or three) tomorrow night, I thought a nutritious smoothie filled with protein, healthy fats, and plenty of greens would be just the thing to start the day off right – or perhaps rejuvenate on the morning after.

Oh, and did I mention there’s matcha, too? Maybe I should have called this the “detox, energy-boosting, antioxidant filled, fat-burning smoothie” instead, but… the title seems a little unwieldy. However you want to call it, this smoothie is going to rock your morning.

Sláinte!

Peppermint Patty Smoothie (serves 1)

~ gluten free, vegan, soy free, refined sugar free, grain free ~

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 cups organic baby spinach
  • big handful of fresh mint (or 1-2 drops pure peppermint extract)
  • 1/4 medium avocado
  • 1 serving vegan chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tsp cacao nibs
  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1 tsp matcha powder
  • 1 tsp maca (optional)

Directions

  1. Add all ingredients to your blender and process until smooth.
  2. It will probably come out fairly thick, so feel free to thin it out with a little bit of cold water. I added maybe 1/4 cup of water the first time, but only a couple tbsp the second time.
  3. Top with extra cacao nibs, if desired.

5 thoughts on “Peppermint Pattie Smoothie (gluten free, vegan)

Leave a Reply

