Coconut Java Cookie Dough Balls (and what to do with leftover almond pulp) – gluten free, vegan option

IMG_1698

It’s probably too soon to be sharing another cookie dough ball recipe. I thought long and hard about whether I should just tuck this recipe away for a rainy day. But the last couple of weeks, aside from being overwhelmingly busy and exhausting, have seen a lot of unsuccessful recipe testing and unfortunate photo taking. It happens. Some weekends it seems like everything I touch in the kitchen turns to gold, and others… well, let’s just say I ate a lot of waffles yesterday and enjoyed very few of them.

I also came up with a really cool cracker recipe a couple of weeks ago and, disregarding everything I know about human memory, failed to write it down. So now I have to figure out exactly what I did the first time before I can share it with you, and in the meantime I’m stuck with way more crackers than any one (or two) people could possibly want to eat!

Ah, the life of a food blogger.

Anyway, the other reason I’m sharing these cookie dough balls with you so soon after the last batch is that they’ve become my new favourite. I didn’t think it could get much better than that last recipe, but man are these good. The addition of espresso chocolate was such a fluke – I literally had no other chocolate in the house, and really wanted raw cookie dough – and the idea to add coconut can only be described as a gift from the flavour gods above. The espresso chocolate adds such amazing depth to these, as the bitterness of the coffee contrasts perfectly with the sweetness of the dough. And coconut makes all things better. Always.

So the next time you make yourself some almond milk, save the leftover pulp and make yourself some sweet treats! Almond meal would work just as well in this recipe, but I do love the added incentive to make your own milk each week. If you’re vegan, just sub a vegan chocolate brand for the Camino – I recommend Chocosol.

IMG_1693

Coconut Java Cookie Dough Balls (makes approx. 16 mini balls)

~ gluten free, vegan option, refined sugar free ~

Adapted from my Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups gluten free oat flour
  • 1/2 cup almond pulp (or almond meal)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted and slightly cooled
  • 6 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • *40g organic fair trade espresso dark chocolate (I used Camino), roughly chopped
  • pinch of sea salt

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, stir together the oat flour, almond meal, and sea salt.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the coconut oil, maple syrup, and vanilla.
  3. Pour into the flour mixture and stir well to combine, then add in the coconut and chocolate. You should have a fairly thick but still pliable dough; if it seems way too dry, add a touch more coconut oil.
  4. Take about 1 tsp each of dough and roll it into a ball – then eat it! Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to a week.

Notes

  1. As I mentioned before, if making this vegan, simply replace the Camino chocolate in favour of a vegan chocolate brand. I do know that Chocosol makes a great raw, vegan espresso chocolate!

One thought on “Coconut Java Cookie Dough Balls (and what to do with leftover almond pulp) – gluten free, vegan option

Leave a Reply

